Inspired by…Ikon- My Type

For the second part of the “Inspired by” series, I have chosen to create outfits inspired by the song “My Type” by the band ikon, under the YG Entertainment label. They are a band who I have been following before their debut, through WIN and Mix&Match. These guys have been through a lot to say the least and speaking as a fan, it is amazing to finally see them reaching their goals. Also a quick note to Bobby who’s family have finally been able to move to Korea with him after 3 years! Congrats!


Onto the designs now and this time rather than focusing on key elements, I took a step back and looked at the video style as a whole. There is a strong street-style vibe to the plot, with a soft colour scheme to match the song lyrics. I tried to mimic this through the use of simple patterns and light colours.


The first design has a more preppy feel to it. I took inspiration from the cardigan pictured above and put my own spin on it, sticking to the bold colour block style in the scene. This isn’t one of my favourites as I think more could have been done to make it more interesting and unique. Despite this, I do like the green and white layered shirt.


The next design is one of my favourites. As you can see, layering is a key feature in the music video and is a theme I carried on into my designs. I kept the design simple, with a striped arm for embellishment to keep the minimal street wear style. Distressed shorts gave the design a more casual look to contrast with the long shirt.


The final design is one which is more sporty. I combined two different prints; checks and stripes. This gave the outfit a more thrown on feel and the ripped jeans styled up the tops. For the tshirt, I looked to baseball for my inspiration.



For the next set, I took the features of pinstripes from the video however I changed up how the pattern was used. I used them on a scalloped crop top and pairing with a grey striped shirt and acid wash jeans to create a more dressy outfit in contrast to the others. I like this design as it conveys the lighthearted message of the song.


For the next design I took inspiration from the illustrations on the back wall as well as the colour block junper. I decided to make it into a dress to change up my designs and went for a Jeremy Scott style of clothing with. Bold prints inspired by thebacoground. I did like it at first, however I’m not sure on the design now as I think it doesnt work with the large images.

Lastly, I went with a more simple design with a cropped plain jumper and navy trousers, which are tied together with a patterned shirt I designed taking inspiration from the headscarves. I think that I need to work on my fine detail drawing for this design to look better as it looks a bit boring at the moment. I think maybe a contrast neck or cuffs would have worked to draw more attention to it.

What do you guys think? As always, I’m open to song suggestions for the next post and would love to hear your opinions on this one!

Previous post-> new music

Previous post in the series-> Red Velvet; Dumb Dumb

Check out my art Instagram here for more of my work and here for ikon’s music video!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

