Inspired by…Red Velvet- Dumb Dumb

I finally have an idea for some more interesting content! I already have my collection reviews and now, I am starting a new project to help me with my portfolio- Collections inspired by Music videos!

I think this will most likely be a Sunday thing, featuring at least 6 different designs inspired by elements of a music video.

The first music video I chose was the new song by Red Velvet; Dumb Dumb! I adore the style and cute style of the song, as well as the outfits and set. There is a theme of dolls and cuteness which I emulated with full skirts, bows and light colours.

The first outfit was inspired by the outfit pictured above. I spotted a boater theme with the hat and stripes, which I also encorporated into my design, going with a 1900s day out pattern . I also took inspiration from the Lolita fashion trend, with a full, high waisted skirt and thigh-high socks carrying on the striped pattern. The outfit has a relaxed feel with the rolled sleeves and loose braces: it’s definitely my favourite!



The next outfit combines the block print jumpers and oversized bows. I like the over the top cuffs and hems, which I enlarged to give a more manufactured doll feel. I also decorated it with a large bow in a contrast yellow to add to the doll clothes theme. This I accessorised with mismatched socks, also seen in the video.


The final outfit on this page was inspired by a similar outfit as the first, however it featured two different patterns which I also tried out. I liked a complementary colour scheme and tried a different skirt style, choosing a tighter pencil mini skirt instead. I decided to use polka dots for the short as it already had a fifties vibe to it with the frills.



In this set, the first outfit is my least favourite. I think it looks too much like the inspired outfit. Although I tried to alter elements such as changing the sleeves and making it into a crop and bell skirt. I don’t like the style of the skirt however. As it looks a bit like a tomatoe which wasn’t the look I was going for! Overall, it reminds me of the clothing from the Cat in the Hat.


The second outfit I like much better. This also encorporated some inspiration from the colour block jumpers seen in the videos and from the ripped jeans seen in one of the dance segments. I didn’t like the style of them much, but they sparked an idea to muse a boy-fit style with a cute appliqué knee patch like the 80/90s fashion. I really like the curved white hem on the cropped jumper; it was a complete accident but a good one!

 



Lastly, I really love shirt dresses so I decided to mix it with the open sleeve seen in the video. I also added a belt and some bow accessories to complete the look. I also love the pinstripes from the first outfit so I decided to use them again, this time in light pink and white, inspired by the day dress also featured.

what do you guys think? Leave a comment about your favourite outfits from the video, or if you have any tips for my designs! If you have any music videos you’d like me to do next, let me know-They don’t have to be kpop songs either!
Link to the official video; http://youtu.be/774lqxA9v5g

Link to my art instagram;

http://www.instagram.com/mashmato

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

