Christian Siriano- Pre S/S 2016

Sorry for the late blog post, I usually post weekly but I’m trying to get all my revision and summer work finished before we go back! I should have my timetable soon, so then I can fit in a definite slot for my posts.

Onto the actual topic, the next collection I’m going to review is Christian Siriano’s Pre collection. This collection features a lot of peach tones, contrasted with black and navy among the pastel hues. Siriano’s collection is elegant and refined, with long, big skirts and modern necklines. Crew-neck and boater style necklines are a reccuring feature. Overall this collection screams young, modern and chic.

The first piece that caught my eye was this peach evening gown. I love the material used, it reminds me of tissue paper that is used to wrap jewellery in! I also like the unique neckline combined with the pleats, which gives a minimal and effortless elegance to the dress. The fact there is hardly any embellishment to the dress draws more attention to the small details which are executed perfectly. Even the hemline adds an edge to the gown.

Next is this floral print which is used throughout the collection. I love how in each ensemble, Siriano picks a key colour from the print and uses it in a block print to contrast. In this, he has selected a beautiful lavender shade for the top of this model and has used his skill in pleating and frills to create a pattern, rather than printing onto the fabric. Again, the simplistic style draws the eye towards the technique, showcasing his skills as a designer. As for the skirt, the same applies, this time with the wide gathers which gives a more mature undertone to the style.

Lastly, I love the 70s vibe that this over-sized shirt and skirt give in this design. The long sleeves and how the shirt is haphazardly fastened give a ‘day at the beach’ feel to the ensemble, and the geometric print adds to the retro vibe. A touch of modern style is injected into the design with the A line skirt which would look great with a crisp white shirt for the office. The heels and bow tie the garments together with the all matching print trend conveyed by Siriano.

What do you think? Check out the rest of the collection hereΒ and leave a comment on your favourite piece!

Or if you’re new, check out my other reviews so far;

Giambattista A/W 2015/16

Barbra Bui Pre S/S 2016

Creatures of the Wind S/S 2016

3 comments

Leave a Reply

