about me · fashion

Get to know the blogger- Top 5 Designers?

I thought that with being a new blogger and all, and not really knowing what to write about yet, I would do a Q&A style blog post linked to my interests so that you guys know a bit more about me.

So the first theme of this post is my favourite designers, the reason being that this is the drive of this blog and my life in general. My ultimate goal is to be a designer, among other things, and there are many people in the industry I admire and whose work reflects my own.

1. Valentino Garavani

Born in Italy, ’32 and introduced to me (not personally, much to my dismay) around 2010, Valentino Garavani is someone who I admire so much. He traveled the world, worked hard from a young age and gained experience all to achive his dream- something that I strive to do. I have written so many “about my idol” essays about him (one was even in French eyy) that it is embarrassing. No one tell him. Ever. I’ll probably say it accidentally if I ever meet him, which I really want to, if you haven’t guessed already. Long story short, Valentino is the sole reason why I started to consider entering the industry in a serious light, and that is why he is on number one. Not that I favour designers.

2. Mannish Arora

I used inspiration from the spring/summer 2015 collection for my textiles project in January, which is currently off for marking. Like me, Mannish Arora features pastels in many of their collections, and floral motifs as a key focus. Their designs are fun and eye-catching and offer a new spin on mainstream fashion, breaking away from the mold to create an entirely new garment style.

3.  Lucky Chouette

My kpop influence is showing now, with number 3 taken by the brand Lucky Chouette. I found these through kpop idol fashion and love their cute and edgy designs. They’re also active on their YouTube which is awesome as you can see snippets of upcoming garments-; an A+ for marketing. To add, they are popular in the kpop world, with artists such as Amber from F(x) sporting the brand.

4. Steve J and Yoni P

I also found Steve and Yoni through my love of kpop- although they have a completely different vibe to LC. They are fun, exiting and I loved their entrance onto the runway (penny boards are the way to make a statement) it was cute and funny, much like their clothing. Again, they are also popular with kpop idols and rightly so- their adorable sporty style echos the kpop themes that are popular this year.

5. Giambattista

Lastly, Giambattista also featured in my sketchbook and by now, you’ve probably spotted a pattern in my favourites….Pastel and Floral….yup. Their collections are light, airy, almost fairy like and completely adorable. The first picture gives off a paris meets candyfloss vibe, with the fluffy skirt and fascinatior. The second is so dainty it looks like the material could disappear at the slightest touch and the tiny flowers are arranged so that it looks as if they naturally grew on the fabric.

There you have it, my top 5 designers. Hopefully you found it interesting and gave you inspiration for future designs! Let me know in the comments who your favourite designers are and why, and what you want me to answer next. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Get to know the blogger- Top 5 Designers?

Leave a comment