My life revolves around textiles

I’ve just finished my first year in college (no longer a noob) and let me tell you now; I didn’t realize just how much of my time went into my textiles coursework, until I finished the course.

As textiles doesn’t have an exam apart from the 5 hours of moderation where you create samples, you finish the course around a few weeks before exams start. During this time I felt as if a considerable weight had been lifted off of my shoulders- not enough to stop caring about exams, but enough to actually have time to revise for them- and I had so much free time over the weekend to do things in between revision.

Don’t get me wrong, I love textiles. I love the course content and its something I want to do as a career, but it is the most stressful subject I take and it really does cut into other subjects time. I take 4 A Levels; English Literature, Language, Business and Textiles, but I also take the extended project as well, so I have a lot on my plate. In regards to Business, there wasn’t much of a problem with not studying for it as 1. I’m not good at maths so I had to make sure I revised or I wouldn’t understand 2. We got stuck with a substitute teacher so homework was forgotten half way through the year.  As for EPQ, its something you can leave until the summer and the classes are only once a month so that also wasn’t a problem. But…my English classes…. I began to forget my language homework simply because it didn’t seem as important compared to the closer deadline of my textiles coursework and I sometimes forgot my Lit homework (not as much as lit is considerably more demanding) and I didn’t mean to and I felt so bad when I did, but one page of a sketchbook can take around 2 hours, possibly more if you want it to look good and there wasn’t enough time in the day.

Admittedly, my time management skills suck. Point blank. But we’re expected to study 5 hours per subject and I think textiles takes around 20… and don’t forget about the people who took Art as well….

I don’t really know where this blog post is going…I guess if you take a creative arts subject in college you need to know that it will eat into your time and if you have other subjects that are demanding like law or….anything…..its important to make sure you get the work done or at least review the work so you know what you understand and what you need to go over later.

Also I need an organizer.

Leave a Reply

